Congratulations to this year’s Furrow Award Winners!

The 2019 Furrow Fiction Award, judged by author Christi Clancy, went to Anagha Putrevu for her story, “Dans les Prison de Nantes.” Putrevu is a student at the University of Minnesota.

The 2019 Furrow Poetry Award, judged by author Nicholas Allen Harp, went to Catherine Dartez for her poem, “Coke in the Camper Circa 1987.” Dartez is a student at the University of Tennessee – Knoxville.

The 2019 Furrow Nonfiction Award, judged by author Sharon Pomerantz, went to Tovah Strong for her essay, “From the Arroyo.” Strong is a student at the Institute of American Indian Arts.

The 2019 Furrow Art Award, judged by artist Lane Hall, went to Jenny Lee for her painting, “Landscape.” Lee is a student at Carnegie Mellon University.


Dating back to 2000, Furrow showcases outstanding undergraduate writing and art from across the U.S. and gives UW-Milwaukee undergraduates training in editing, publishing, publication design, web design, publicity, fundraising, and business practices. Through the generous support of local donors and the UW-Milwaukee Department of English, we publish a full-color, print issue of the journal every May and feature new work regularly on our website. Our goal is to connect student writers and artists with a broader network of creative spirits within and beyond Milwaukee.

We publish poetry, fiction, nonfiction, art, and comics from undergraduates all across the U.S. Our next submissions period is from December 1, 2019 to February 20, 2020.

Interested in becoming an editor? Enroll in UWM’s English 418 or Art 427.501 in the spring semester.

For more information, contact us or contact our UWM Faculty Advisor, Professor Valerie Laken.